The Five Boroughs of the Danelaw

History Time offers an educational historical documentary on the Five Boroughs of the Danelaw that were the result of Viking encroachment upon Anglo-Saxon England. The Danelaw contrasts with the West Saxon law and the Mercian law. The term is first recorded in the early 11th century as Dena lage. It came as an imposition by the Danish Kings who imposed Danelaw upon their Briton, English, Danish, and Norwegian subjects.

Source: England and Wales at the time of the Treaty of Chippenham (AD 878). From Earle W Dowe, Atlas of European History (G Bell and Sons, London, 1910)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *